Bill Read Golf Tournament

CRMC Foundation Hosts 27th Annual Bill Read Golf Classic

The 27th Bill Read Golf Classic was held on October 16th at the Coffeyville Country Club.  All proceeds from the event will benefit the CRMC Foundation. The Bill Read Golf Classic celebrates Dr. William Read who practiced in Coffeyville for more than 40 years following a tour of duty in the Pacific during World War II.  Read was known for his patience, and his genuine desire to help the people of the community.

The four-person scramble had 26 teams participate this year.  Newkirk, Dennis and Buckles Insurance sponsored the winning team of the Championship Flight.  This team won for the third consecutive tournament and the team members are Grady Smith Jr., Tyler Watts, Grant Hendrix and Andrew Hobbs. The Community State Bank of Tim and Kim Hearson and David and Amanda Rains placed second.  Third place and only two points out of first place was the team of Shawn Palmer, Glen Kastler, Grady Smith Sr., and Savanna Johnson.

Congratulate the first place team of the Bill Read Golf Classic. The Newkirk, Dennis & Buckles sponsored team has won the past three Bill Read tournaments. Team members are Grady Smith Jr., Tyler Watts, Grant Hendrix, and Andrew Hobbs.

Several individuals were awarded for Women’s Longest Drive – Amanda Rains, Senior Men’s Longest Drive – Tim Hearson, Men’s Longest Drive – Grant Hendrix, and closest to the pin was Matt Stevenson, Jimmy Johnson, Gregg Fox and Savanna Johnson.

The tournament concluded with a Golf Ball Drop sponsored by Community State Bank.  Tournament participants and others purchased golf balls that were dropped from overhead.  Sara Holden of Bernice, Oklahoma won the $500 cash prize.


Congratulations Sara Holden on winning the $500 prize sponsored by Community State Bank at the Bill Read Golf Classic Golf Ball Drop!